ADVOCACY FOR YOUR FAMILY & YOUR FUTURE TELL US YOUR STORY

BURGLARY ATTORNEYS IN CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MICHIGAN

Breaking and Entering - Home Invasions

Searching for a lawyer for your burglary case in Macomb County? In Michigan, it is considered to be a ghastly crime to break into another person's residence. In fact, breaking into someone's home, business or another building is categorized as a felony crime in Michigan. The Michigan penal code section 750.110a describes in more detail the exact legal definition of burglary and what it entails.

Burglary crimes typically go hand in hand with larceny, which is the theft of more than $20,000 in jewelry, cash and other valuable property. In this state, burglary also referred to as home invasion or breaking and entering and it carries serious criminal penalties for those who are convicted. If you are facing burglary charges in Macomb County, then you are at risk of becoming a convicted felon. Don't let a home invasion charge ruin your future. Speak with a Macomb County criminal attorney from my firm today to get the aggressive defense you need and deserve!

Penalties for Burglary in Michigan

When facing a burglary charge in Michigan, you not only face potential prison time and steep monetary fines, but you may also be required to pay restitution to any injured parties or to their insurance company. You could also face enhanced charges if the property is damaged in the commission of the crime. According to the penal code, burglary is broken down into three distinct categories and a fourth category for larceny. The penalties for burglary in Michigan are as follows:

First Degree Burglary - This means that the building or dwelling was occupied and you intended to commit a felony crime while inside. This crime is punishable for up to 20 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine.

Second Degree Burglary - This charge means that the crime took place in an unoccupied building, but you intended to commit a felony crime while inside. The maximum penalty for this crime is 15 years behind bars and/or a $3,000 fine.

Third Degree Burglary - This means that the building you broke into was unoccupied, but you had intent to commit a misdemeanor crime while inside. This crime could lead to a five-year sentence and/or a $2,000 fine.

Larceny - This charge means that you had lawful entry into the building but you committed larceny while inside. This could lead to a four-year sentence.

Macomb County Theft Crime Attorney

Have you been accused of larceny, breaking and entering, home invasion or burglary? If so, my firm can help you determine the best course of action in order to reach the best possible outcome in your case. As a criminal defense lawyer, my main goal is to get your charges dismissed, reduced or seek out a plea bargain so that you don't have to spend time behind bars. Need a lawyer for a burglary case in Macomb County? I have extensive experience defending against burglary and other theft crimes and I have a track record of success in the courtroom. However, it is vital that you contact an attorney immediately following your arrest and that you exercise your right to remain silent.

Looking for an Attorney for Your Burglary Case in Macomb County?

Start building your solid defense today with help from a Macomb criminal defense attorney here at Bowden Law, PLLC. I have payment plans available to any who are interested and I also offer a free and confidential case evaluation. Contact my firm today to schedule an appointment.